U.S. Government Expands Travel Restrictions on Foreigners Seeking to Visit the U.S.

HomeNews & EventsU.S. Government Expands Travel Restrictions on Foreigners Seeking to Visit the U.S.

Immigration News & Events



U.S. Government Expands Travel Restrictions on Foreigners Seeking to Visit the U.S.

Share This Post: facebooktwitterLinkedIn

Citing concerns over the spread of COVID-19, Trump issued his Proclamation on Suspension of Entry as Immigrants and Nonimmigrants of Certain Additional Persons Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting Novel Coronavirus and added Brazil to the list of countries with imposed travel restrictions. As of Tuesday, May 26, 2020, foreigners who have been in Brazil during the 14 days preceding their entry are barred from entering the U.S. unless an exemption applies.

The bar does not apply to U.S. citizens, lawful permanent residents, and with limited exceptions for their non-citizen or permanent resident family members. In addition, as with previous COVID-19 travel ban proclamations, there are limited exemptions to these categories allowing certain individuals to enter the U.S. despite their recent travel to Brazil. The full proclamation and exemptions can be found here: https://trumpwhitehouse.archives.gov/presidential-actions/proclamation-suspension-entry-immigrants-nonimmigrants-certain-additional-persons-pose-risk-transmitting-novel-coronavirus/

There has been broad speculation that Trump’s recent remarks suggest that he may lift the March 2020 travel ban already in place for some European countries, however, no official word has been announced. The restrictions remain in effect until the President lifts them.

As of this writing, travelers coming from (within 14 days) the following countries are suspended from entering the U.S., unless an exemption applies:

Brazil, UK, Ireland, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia,  Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, China, and Iran.

Travelers from these countries who may be admitted per one of the limited exemptions are required to enter the United States through one of 13 approved airports: https://www.dhs.gov/news/2020/03/17/fact-sheet-dhs-notice-arrival-restrictions-china-iran-and-certain-countries-europe.

  Two ICE detainees have confirmed COVID-19 diagnoses as of May 20, 2020. One of the detainees has been taken to a local hospital. No further information about his condition…


U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services is preparing some domestic offices to reopen and resume non-emergency public services on or after June 4. On March 18, USCIS temporarily suspended routine in-person…



Recognized Leaders In
Immigration Law

Joseph & Hall P.C. is a full-service immigration law firm. We pride ourselves on being nationwide experts in all areas of immigration law, including the practice areas listed below. Our attorneys frequently are asked to speak both locally and nationally on a wide variety of immigration topics. For an overview of each practice area, please click the links below. If you have any questions about how these practice areas may apply to your case, please do not hesitate to contact our firm.


We Are Committed to Your Dreams.

Countless people dream of becoming a U.S. citizen. If your application was rejected by the USCIS, we are here to fight for your best interests.

Get in touch with us. Write us a message.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Tap Here To Schedule An Appointment
It's Fast & Easy