TPS Automatically Extended for Six Countries through January 4, 2021

HomeNews & EventsTPS Automatically Extended for Six Countries through January 4, 2021

Immigration News & Events



TPS Automatically Extended for Six Countries through January 4, 2021

Share This Post: facebooktwitterLinkedIn

On November 1, 2019, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced the automatic extension of Temporary Protected Status (TPS) validity for the following countries:

  • El Salvador;
  • Haiti;
  • Nicaragua;
  • Sudan;
  • Honduras; and
  • Nepal.

At this time, TPS beneficiaries do not need to take any action to re-register or to renew their Employment Authorization Documents (EADs). Rather, such individuals may show their current EAD and a copy of the Federal Register Notice (below) to employers to demonstrate they have valid employment authorization and to explain that their TPS-Related Documentation has been auto-extended through January 4, 2021.

In addition, as the future of TPS benefits remains unknown, if you have not already done so, please contact your attorney (if you are a current client) or contact our office to schedule a consultation (if you are not a current client) as soon as possible so that we can review your case and your immigration options beyond TPS.

Suggested additional reading: USCIS Announcement; Federal Register Notice

On November 14, 2019, the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) issued notice in the Federal Register of its proposed rulemaking to increase fees by 21% overall, elimination of some…


On December 13, 2019, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) updated the section of its policy manual dealing with “unlawful acts” that can prevent the agency from finding that an applicant…



Recognized Leaders In
Immigration Law

Joseph & Hall P.C. is a full-service immigration law firm. We pride ourselves on being nationwide experts in all areas of immigration law, including the practice areas listed below. Our attorneys frequently are asked to speak both locally and nationally on a wide variety of immigration topics. For an overview of each practice area, please click the links below. If you have any questions about how these practice areas may apply to your case, please do not hesitate to contact our firm.


We Are Committed to Your Dreams.

Countless people dream of becoming a U.S. citizen. If your application was rejected by the USCIS, we are here to fight for your best interests.

Get in touch with us. Write us a message.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Tap Here To Schedule An Appointment
It's Fast & Easy